Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Sarah in Paris
2 octobre 2009

Car Boot Sales in the Loiret by Guylaine

vide_grenier_2007The day continues and the students keep coming - always nice to see them all. Next on the list in my diary is Guylaine. What would she like to tell you about, I asked. Guylaine loves car boot sales, rifling around for forgotten and hidden gems.

"I like car boot sales in the region of the Loiret (45), particularly in Montargis, Orléans and Gien because I am therevide_grenier1_3 every weekend with my dog, Praline. I have a collection of old kitchen utensils in enamel vide_grenier_romansand copper and also electric kitchen equipment from the 1960's, for example an old Robochef.

It is such a pleasure to explore and to find treasures. The atmosphere is very friendly. People tell you the story of each object, and when you discover the history of a plate or an old set of scales, it is wonderful because the object becomes personal.

Becassine_730My best buy was a book of cartoons of Becassine from 1924. Becassine is a character from Brittany (left) a little like Tin-Tin but not the same stories, who has lots of adventures. The colours are lovely and it's very funny. Now I would like to increase my Becassine collection!assiettes_de_barbiers

I have plates used by barbers called 'assiettes de barbiers' in French. They are in ceramic and painted blue. I love blue and search for that.

In the summer, I spend most weekends at car boot sales to find new wonders. Sometimes I go with friends who like the atmosphere, too. Sometimes I have a car boot sale myself where I meet collectors and antique dealers.

I recommend you go to a car boot sale on the Place de la Poste at Montargis. Every year there are the antique fairs in July. It is wonderful!"

Publicité
Commentaires
L
Brilliant work! What progress! This was such a great idea - I know I keep saying it ... your students are going to miss you so much, again.
S
Hi Heidi,<br /> Praline is a teckle and a very well brought up doggie. She travels with her mama all over the place and I have only god reports on her. Yes, from what I remember she is indeed brown.<br /> A 'vide grenier' is not like a flea market - it's really more bric-a-brac, a boot sale - garage sale, you call it, I think.<br /> Yes, aren't I lucky to have clever students. They worked very hard on their posts and they should be proud of themselves.<br /> Hoooooooow did LM know Becassine, I wonder? I didn't!<br /> Thank you, Heidi, for leaving a comment. It's really nice for my students to see their posts are read and appreciated as they were very dilligent.<br /> Speak to you soon!<br /> Love sairj
H
I liked what Guylaine wrote about her weekend escapades in the company of her dog, Praline and wonder what breed she/he is..<br /> I visited the Loire valley many years ago and have only fond memories about this place.<br /> Maybe Guylaine is in a mood to write more after this weekend?
L
Dear Sarah, You are so lucky to have such talented students. I love what she wrote about these weekend markets and the odds and ends one can find there. Praline.. what a nice name for a dog.. she must be beige, I assume?<br /> I know Becassine.. don't ask me how.<br /> Congratulations Guylaine for writing in such good English; I learned something new about France today.
Sarah in Paris
Publicité
Archives
Derniers commentaires
Publicité