Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Sarah in Paris
23 mai 2010

Au Limonaire

Just back from the Limonaire - and I've only ever been disappointed once. Well, it was a Sunday that time last year. But it was a one off. Between Allain Lepreste, Francesca Solleville, Bernard Joyet and tonight, the wonderful, funny Michele Bernard, Au Limonaire is one of the places I'll miss the most in Paris when the moment finally comes to pack up and leave for good.

Sitting round the table with Marie Jo, Mariano, Claude and other familiar faces, I thought of what a little community it had become to me, all gathered together for Lolo le Fourneau's dinner under the attentive eye of Noelle (tonight something with goats cheese to start, followed by a vegetable risotto and topped off with pannacotta with lime all served up in record time with smooth red wine) united by a love for the French cabaret chanson. You just can't beat it. It is indeed set to poetry (I wonder which comes first, in fact - the poetry or the melody?) and I always wish I could see the words before hearing them so i don't miss a thing. There are such subtleties and nuances in this beautiful, literary language that even after 15 years I am convinced that the depth slips through my fingers leaving me holding just a skeleton of meaning. The prose of Lepreste, Ferré, Aragon, Vian, Joyet and Anne Sylvestre have become my most beloved part of France and when I am ensconced in my future home on the other side of the ocean, I know I shall close my eyes often and transport myself back to the hot little Limonaire, crowded to bursting, rocking in time to the music, listening to the buzz of the voices around me that hum in accompaniment to On S'ra Jamais Vieux, T'as pas 100 Balles, Je T'Aime, Ma Bible, and Il Pleut sur la Mer all so well known to the regular Limonaire clients.

Michele Bernard has such presence - much like Francesca. That warmth, smile, the funny (and meaningful) anecdotes between songs. She and her accordian enveloped the little café in a big hug. It was much like sitting in a friend's apartment listening to someone you've known for years getting up and doing a turn - though I don't have many in my entourage who could do a 'turn' like Michele Bernard! Still, you get my drift. Familiar, cosy. All that was missing was a log fire and fat purring cat, a few overly stuffed and equally fat armchairs and a shabby-chic rug on the floor. If you closed your eyes, you'd find yourself surrounded by all of them. Energy, vivacity, vigour and yet so sensitive, lulling. My first experience of the music of Michele Bernard and I do so hope it won't be the last.

For the first time since my return from Seville, I forgot the looming exams for just a little while, long enough to breathe. the terminology, history of ELT, quotations, book titles, methods and approaches in pedagogy seemed to belong to another world and remained there until I was half way back in the metro when I was suddenly hit by a wave of guilt for spending an evening away from my books. Out came the flashcards again, but Michele Bernard continued to sing in my head, the melodies rang out clear and strong. I expect her accordian and piano accompaniment will remain there until morning. At least, i am clinging to them for a little while longer.

Publicité
Commentaires
Sarah in Paris
Publicité
Archives
Derniers commentaires
Publicité