Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Sarah in Paris
1 octobre 2009

The Arc de Triomphe by Julien

arc_de_triomphe_at_nightMy classes over my last few days in Paris are revolving around my blog. As I am leaving France next week forview_from_arc_de_triomphe six months, everyone is writing a post about something they associate with France: musicians, poets, food, history, monuments, literature, films, etc... they must research, write, translate and resume. Very pedagogical!

Julien has chosen the Arc de Triomphe, so, I type as he dictates:

"Napoleon I ordered the construction of the Arc de Triomphe to celebrate the victory of the Battle of Austerlitz. Construction began in 1806, but was interrupted by Napoleon's defeat at the Russian Campaign in 1812. Louis Phillippe I continued the construction in 1832, finished in 1836 and inaugurated the same year.

arc_de_triomphe_flameThe Arc de Triomphe belongs to the group of the most known monuments in Paris. At her base there is the tomb of the unknown soldier from World War I, built in commemoration of the soldiers who fought for France. An eternal flame burns all day long in their memory.

On the interior walls are engraved the names of the biggest battles of the Revolution names_of_battles_arc_de_triompheand the Empire.

During the transfer of Napoleon's ashes, the courtege passed under the Arc de Triomphe.

sunset_arc_de_triompheTwice a year, the sun sets at the base of the arch around 10th May and 1st August, and it rises twice on 7th February and 4th November.

The body of Victor Hugo lay under the arch on the night of 22nd May, 1895, before being buried at the Panthéon.

On the rue de la Grande Armée, there is a tunnel which joins the Champs Elysées and there you find the entrance to the Arc. You have to pay to visit - I think it costs 7 euros.

arc_de_triophe_stairsI recommend you visit the arch for history and the view of Paris at the top. For this, you must climb many stairs. The last time I went was last weekend. I took my son to see it. He is nine. He liked it."

Publicité
Commentaires
S
You mean, IF she returns, my dear!
N
of English is excellent. Congratulations, Julien. The Arc de Triomphe is, vraimant one of the most beautiful monuments of Paris, also due to its location.<br /> Julien refreshed my memory in regard to the Arc and I thank him for that. I hope Julien, like most of Sarah's students, will continue to study English while she is away and surprise her when she returns.
S
catching?? I mean catchy...it's all these alcohol handwashes posted everywhere you go. The fumes addle my neurones.<br /> <br /> Oh, and I'm only away for 3 months, a week back here, then 3 more...the BIG move is early summer, I hope. <br /> <br /> Fingers crossed, touch wood and whistle...<br /> Moi
N
Hi Little Me,<br /> <br /> It was fun and will be the goal for the next three teaching days left... Yes, Sure I'll make a new blog for the US. trying to think up a catching name like Slice of American Pie or Sarahnade from the Nutmeg State or somehting like that. Keep reading!<br /> <br /> Always thanks for your comments. Sunday, there were 75 visits and only 3 people commented. Drives me mad. How can I know whether they like what they read. I guess I'm lucky I don't get hate mail!!!<br /> <br /> TTFN! <br /> Sarah
L
That is a brilliant teaching idea! And well done to Julien! I used to like going up the Arc too, better view than the Eiffel Tower imho. <br /> <br /> Good luck with your move next week. Will you be starting a new blog from your next place?
Sarah in Paris
Publicité
Archives
Derniers commentaires
Publicité